Words fail me

Lewisham Council in South London, whose chief executive Barry Quirk earns £188,000-a-year, spent £10,635 for six senior managers to visit £200-a-night Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa in Kent to discuss ‘strategic leadership, management delivery and ongoing service improvements’.

Read more

Labour’s got to go! Labour’s got to go! Labour’s got to go!
They really think they own the Town Hall and all its content.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Words fail me”

  1. maisie Says:

    That is exactly why I am voting for you! I firmly believe that all parrties become arrogant and lazy when they hold power for too long. Labour locally and nationally are a prime example.

    I am a floating voter but there is no way I am voting Labour this year. I am impressed with the efforts you put into improving Hither Green and the fact that you work hard for the area. Labour? Well besides trying take credit for successes like the Cinema Day, I have barely seen them.

    I have not always been a huge Lib Dem fan, but I am relying and your team to kick Labour out!

  2. Jimmy Says:

    But aren’t Lib Dem councils just as bad? The same article says that:
    “Richmond Council in South-West London spent £85,980 in all. The bill included 13 away days to the picturesque Lensbury Club, a popular haunt of the England rugby team on the banks of the Thames. The council said the trips improved its ‘overall corporate performance’.”

    I thought the Lib Dems controlled Richmond Council. What makes you think that you can do a better job than your colleagues in Richmond?

  3. Max Says:

    A few questions rolled into one.

    Let’s start:
    “But aren’t Lib Dem councils just as bad? ”
    Not at all.
    “Richmond Council in South-West London spent £85,980 in all. The bill included 13 away days to the picturesque Lensbury Club, a popular haunt of the England rugby team on the banks of the Thames. The council said the trips improved its ‘overall corporate performance’.”
    I read that Richmond Council spent £85,980 “in all”, but the article doesn’t specify how many days, how many people and for what activities.
    it details one item of this bill, the 13 days at the pictoresque Lensbury Club, but we don’t know how much was spent on this and for what and for how many people. The article doesn’t give elements to decide if this is good or bad.
    Maybe there were 100 people at a bargain price and they spent all their time doing useful trainings? How can you know by this article.

    I also assume that if there was anything else worth mentioning the Daily Mail would have mentioned it. £85,980 sounds like a lot of money but besides the fact that some of those money were spent in a pictoresque place we don’t know anything,

    What we do know instead is that 6 extraordinarily paid people from Lewisham Council went on a fine trip to a Spa and landed £10k on Lewisham’s budget for the privilege.

    Which brings me to the last question:
    “What makes you think that you can do a better job than your colleagues in Richmond?”
    I honestly don’t know anything about Richmond or Libdems of Richmond, I’m a Lewisham boy, I’m not aiming at replacing anyone in Richmond, I want to run Lewisham instead of Lewisham Labour, and as I just demonstrated you, at the very least I can read an article and understand it.

  4. Max Says:

    Maisie, thank you so much for the encouraging words.
    Labour is very active canvassing though.
    They’re good at nothing but being elected and their glossy leaflets are very professional looking indeed.
    This is a target ward for them and they’re splashing a lot of those money of the unions here.

Comments are closed.


