Famously furious

I’m again in the local news, standing up for swimmers! The Mercury quoted me, the News Shopper called me a furious swimmer. I really like that.

And nearly furious I was two days ago at Downham Pool where at 9:40 pm, 20 minutes before end of play and just as I was getting into the rhythm two lifeguards started winding up the lane floats . Standing up mid pool and pointing at my wrist I yelled them a loud and clear “Oi!”. The lifeguard looked very puzzled, then lifting his hands half-way up he walked back and put the floats that he had just released back into place. Two swimmers nodded at me in approval and went back into swimming their lengths, their lanes still there.

3 Responses to “Famously furious”

  1. Clare Griffiths Says:

    Hehe – love the photo!

  2. Bob Says:

    Hey Max, how come I never see you when I go to Ladywell Pool?

    Not that I’ll be going so often now, I have to confess, as I am pretty scared to take my kids there despite the assurances the legionella is rooted out – even though I know I am being disproportionate.

  3. Max Says:

    Hi Bob, maybe it’s because I swim unsociable hours, my usual slot is 9pm when the pool is quiet and you get a better chance of having a lane all for yourself.

    Kids are the least at risk actually, the danger increases with age. It should be ok for everyone when it re-opens though. I’ve just called the pool and have been told that it’s still close today and maybe it will re-open on Friday.

Comments are closed.


