Seven songs

I’ve been tagged by Andrew:

List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring. Post these instructions in your blog along with your 7 songs. Then tag 7 other people to see what they’re listening to.

I’m actually quite happy to share what music lives around me these days, interestingly Andrew that tagged me also mentions Curtis Mayfield. He’s evidently in the air. Let’s start with him then.

Curtis Mayfield – People Get Ready

I love this song, this afternoon I was at the playground at Hillyfields with my daughter, there’s a locomotive/climbing frame, I really can’t take it anymore to say choo choo at every reference to a train so I introduced this song to her today. All the other parents there probably thought I was a nutter.
And speaking of nutters here’s another version by Al Green, I love this version, this youtube video is from “the Gospel according to Al Green” a dvd that I’m a proud owner of.

Pino Daniele – Ce sta chi ce penza – A protest song from the alleys of Naples.

Steely Dan – Two Against Nature – there’s only this fragment available online, shall you decide to buy the disc to hear the rest you wouldn’t be wasting your money. Massive.

Nina Simone – Sinnerman – hypnotic.

Paul Simon – Slip Sliding Away, a great poem.

Jaco Pastorius – Ocus Pocus – – Jaco Pastorius debut album is a milestone – I had it on a loop for a few days last week.

Billy Cobham – Stratus – very good for air guitar.

Tagged: Andrew, Kate, Henry, Rob, Helena, Inspector Sands, Clare

5 Responses to “Seven songs”

  1. Kate Says:

    Thankyou , im so easily pleased, i saw this at bagrec and was hoping i would get it …..as i said easily pleased ha ha.

  2. BobFromBrockley Says:

    What a wonderful choice Max. I love Curtis Mayfield’ “Slip Sliding” is one of my favourite Paul Simon songs, and indeed one of the loveliest songs ever. “Sinnerman” is fantastic.

    Jaco P though? I have to say I draw the line there!

  3. Max Says:

    Hi Kate, it’s a good meme this one, let’s see what is it that you’re listening to these days.

    Thanks Bob, Jaco is not mandatory, only highly recommended, look forward to see your selection too.

  4. Kate Says:

    Proving difficult Max as im listening to two albums on repeat. will get there eventually.

  5. Inspector Sands Says:

    I will get round to this… honest!

Comments are closed.


