Switch off

A few weeks ago the scart plugs on the back of my Widescreen Panasonic stopped working, first one, a couple of weeks later the other one gave up too. And this means no DVD but especially no Digital TV.

Since then it’s been paradise.
I have a lot more time available and my daughter is becoming seriously clever playing with those cubes with letters, numbers and pictures.

Analog TV with its 5 channels is all we need to get by really. You read the programs and that takes only 5 minutes because there’s only 5 channels and not 500, then you discover that there’s something good for an hour in the evening and that’s when you switch the telly on and then you switch off. Perfect.

Apart for those few programs that I watch on purpose I sometimes watch telly when I wash dishes, and for that purpose I watch the very old small Ferguson that’s in the kitchen that despite falling on the floor from high a number of times, just keeps on working perfectly.
There I can watch all the most awful stuff. Last week I watched the Apprentice, I often watch Relocation, Relocation and if I have a lot of dishes to wash I can even watch Relocation, Relocation followed by Escape to the Country.

Soon this self-harming pleasure will be taken away from me, you and everybody else with a small, old Ferguson in the kitchen.
It is called switchover, but for all those trusty old sets it will really be their last switch off.

This is in effect the greatest fly-tipping ever. Millions of useless TV sets dumped in millions of British kitchens.

